Return to Headlines

National Merit Scholarship Program

Haverford High School is pleased to announce that 17 students have been named Commended and Semifinalists in the National Merit® Scholarship Program.
The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).
Of the 1.6 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores
(calculated by doubling the sum of the Reading, Writing and Language, and Math Test scores) qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program. In September, these high scorers are notified through their schools that they have qualified as either a Commended Student or Semifinalist.
More than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.
About 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists.

National Merit Commended  Scholars 2018-2019
Jameson  P. Barry, Andrew W. Borbi, Nina Brown, Zheng-Cheng Chen, Robert D. Gorman, Drew Havlick, Abigail J. Kesselman, Alindra S. Lambert, Raphael D. Lopez, Lauren K. May, Madelyn J. McAlexander, Edward Nestor, Britt E. Riegler, Spencer Hurst

National Semi-Finalist Commended Scholars for 2018-2019
Gregory Damico, William W. Gardner, Brian F. Timoney

National Hispanic Commended Scholar 2018-2019
Maya Mendoza

Haverford HS National Merit Scholarship
Missing from photo: 
Abigail Kesselman, Robert Gorman, Lauren May, Maya Mendoza