Haverford High School Clubs/Activities

Sci Olympiad

African Americans Cultural Enrichment

To discuss and learn about historical and current issues impacting the African American community. In addition AACE exposes students to volunteer opportunities and college preparation.

Sponsor: Mr. Leon Smith

Email: lsmith@havsd.net

Alex's Lemonade Stand

Work as a club to fundraise for Alex's Lemonade Stand.

Sponsor: Ms. Karen Laskaris

Email: klaskaris@havsd.net

Anime Club

Read, watch and discuss Anime. 

Sponsor: Ms. Sarah Crispin

Email: scrispin@havsd.net

Art Club

An opportunity to create unique art projects outside of class.

Sponsors: Ms. Samara Talkin/Ms. Jill Marshall

Email: stalkin@havsd.net/jmarshall@havsd.net

Art4Alzheimer's Club

To raise awareness and money for the Alzheimer's Association.

Sponsor: Ms. Apri Forgeng

Email: aforgeng@havsd.net

Asian Cultural Exchange Club 

Learn about the diversity of Asian cultures. Students enjoy the opportunity to practice their native language, cook a variety of foods and learn about the customs and traditions of Asian cultures.

Sponsor: Mrs. Kim Dzielak

Email: kdiezlak@havsd.net

AWARE

Is an environmental awareness club that reaches out to high school kids to work towards a more sustainable planet. All high school grades are invited to join and participate in the club. Each year, members have the opportunity to compete in the Pennsylvania Envirothon, a team competition testing different high schools on our local environment. Our activities include maintaining our high school’s native garden, cutting electricity bills, and selling organic goods.

Sponsor: Ms. Rebecca Mortland

Email: mortland@havsd.net

Best Buddies

The mission of Best Buddies is to establish a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one to one friendships. Integrated employment and leaderrship development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilties

Sponsors: Ms. Michelle Lynn/Ms. Margaret DiFrancesco

Email:  mlynn@havsd.net/difrancesco@havsd.net

Bowling Club

Meet weekly to bowl and have fun. A small fee does apply.

Sponsor: Mr. Jeff Kaufman/Ms. JoEllen Keating

Email: jkaufman@havsd.net/keating@havsd.net

Build On

To contribute intensive local service – helping children, seniors and the homeless in our communities – to confront urban struggles with passion and optimism.

Sponsor: Ms. Lauren Pellicane/Mr. Christopher Walters

Email: pellicane@havsd.net/cwalter@havsd.net

Chess Club

The Chess Club is open to all students of all ability levels fom grades 9-12. No experience is neccesary--you may come to learn the game or sharpen your skills. Chess Club is a member of the Main Line High School Chess League and our top boards complete against other schools in this league.

Sponsor: Mr. Keith MacConnell

Email: kmacconnell@havsd.net

Chinese Club

An introduction to the Chinese language.

Sponsor: Ms. Huang

Email:

Class Officers

Each class elects 5-7 class officers. Class Officers are responsible for fundrasing, dances, proms, homecoming and organizing other school wide events.

Color Guard/Drill Team

Raise money and learn skills to prepare for the upcoming seasons.

Sponsor: Andrews/Crivaro

Email:

 

Competition Marching Band 

Compete alongside the Color Guard against other local high schools.

Sponsor: Mr. Jeffery Hart

Email: jhart@havsd.net

Concert Chorale 

Haverford's premier chorus. 

Sponsor: Ms. Marsha Core

Email: core@havsd.net

Cooking for a Cause

Prepare meals to be delivered to local homeless shelters.

Sponsor: Ms. Madonna McMahon

Email: mmcmahon@havsd.net

Dance Team

Work with other students on choreographing dances for homecoming and other sporting events. 

Sponsor: Ms. Jessica Borck-Hadley

Email: jborckhadley@havsd.net

Drama/All School Show 

Participate in all aspects of theatre, from on stage performance to the behind the scences work.

Sponsor: Ms. Kirsten Montgomery

Email: kmontgomery@havsd.net

 

Economics Club

Discuss economics and take part in a real life stock market game.

Sponsor: Mr. Taraborelli

Email: taraborelli@havsd.net

 

Fashion Club

Groups meets to talk about fashion and trends. Students will design and create fashion pieces

Sponsor: Ms. Samara Talkin

Email: stalkin@havsd.net

Fitness Center

Meets Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 2:30-4:00. Get your sweat on!!

Sponsor: Mr. Detweiler

Email: detweiler@havsd.net

Fordian

Haverford's student run newpaper. Publish news and feature stories, editorials and opinions relevant to the Haverford community while upholding the highest professional and ethical standards.

Sponsor: Ms. Sarah Crispin

Email: scrispin@havsd.net

Fords Fans Club

Join the crowd and cheer! Students attend all Haverford events to support their classmates. Themed games and events! 

Sponsor: Mr. Perez

Email: mperez@havsd.net

French Travel Club

Discuss and learn about French Culture. Make Crepes and meet friends.

Sponsor: Ms. Nicole Braun

Email: nbraun@havsd.net

Future Business Leaders of America

An educational association of students preparing for careers in business or business related fields. FBLA helps develop student leadership abilities, strengthen their confidence and encourage positive character development. Students attend conferences, present and compete in buisness realted events. Students also participate in community service.

Sponsor: Ms. Jessica Mini

Email: jmini@havsd.net

Future Teachers of America

Gives students who are interested in pursuing a career in education an opportunity to learn about the issues impacting education, shadow a district teacher and learn more about the various responsibilities of teachers.

Sponsor: 

Email:

Gay/Straight Alliance

An environment where students of all sexual orientations are welcome and can feel comfortable and safe.

Sponsor:  Ms. Jennifer Stadnicki

Email: stadnicki@havsd.net

Girls Can

Focus and learn about women's leadership.

Sponsor: Ms. Laurie Grady

Email: lgrady@havsd.net

Greystones

Haverford's yearbook. Work as a team on photography, organization, business skills, writing and more. 

Sponsor: Ms. Elyse Barrett

Email: ebarrett@havsd.net

Guitar and Songwriting Club

Sponsor: Mr. Ian Althouse

Email: ialthouse@havsd.net

H-Vision

Haverford's student run TV Station. Experience production, management and film editing.

Sponsor: Ms. Elyse Barrett/Ms.Sarah Crispin

Email: ebarrett@havsd.net/scrispin@havsd.net

Haverford Science Academy

Share your love of science with others who love science! 

Sponsor: Dr. Jeremy Tomaszewski

Email: jtomaszewski@havsd.net

Haverford's Finest Talent Show

A competition to show off your talents in the quest to become Mr. Haverford while raising money for your class and great causes. 

Sponsor: 

Email: 

HiQ

Inter-Scholastic trivia competition.

Sponsor: Mr. Dave McCauley

Email: mccauley@havsd.net

Interact Club

Community Service Club. Members participate in activities and fundraisers that benefit the school and surrounding community.

Sponsor:  Ms. Sarah Davit

Email: davit@havsd.net

Italian Club

All things Italian! Culture, Food and Language. 

Sponsor: Mr. Riccardo Latrano

Email: latrano@havsd.net

Jazz Band

 

Sponsor: Mr. Michael Fein

Email: fein@havsd.net

Math League Competition

Monthly math competition where students compete against each other and other schools.

Sponsor: Mr. Jeffrey Jackson

Email: jackson@havsd.net

 

Medical Professionals of Tomorrow

Club aims to education the current and future student body in medical topics  that they will be exposed to in everday society. Any student interested in medicine or a profession within the medical field should join. 

Sponsor: Ms. Megan Marshall

Email: mmarshall@havsd.net

 

Medical Professionals of Tomorrow

Any kids who are interested in the field of medicine should join this exciting club. Whether you are interested in nursing, pediatrics or surgery, this is the club for you.

Sponsor: Ms. Megan Marshall

Email: mmarshall@havsd.net

 

Model U.N.

Learn about the UN and international relations as we prepare for a 4 day trip to the Philadelphia Model UN in Philadelphia.

Sponsor: Ms. Jennifer Borck-Hadley

Email: jborckhadley@havsd.net

 

Movie Club

 

Sponsor: Ms. Kirsten Montgomery

Email:  kmontgomery@havsd.net

 

Mu Alpha Theta (Mathematics Honor Society)

Meet weekly to explore mathematics in a more in depth fashion. Compete in a variety of mathematical challenges.

Sponsor: Mr. Jeffrey Jackson

Email: jjackson@havsd.net

 

Music Club

Meet to discuss and listen to a wide variety of music.

Sponsor: Mr. Michael Armine

Email: armine@havsd.net

 

National Artist Honor Society

Membership extended after completion of:

Sponsor: Ms. Samara Talkin/Ms. Jill Marshall

Email: stalkin@havsd.net/jmarshall@havsd.net

 

National Honor Society

Nationally affiliated organization for students who meet certain academic, service and leadership requirements.

Sponsor: Ms. Devona Jackson/Ms. Patricia Dyal

Email: djackson@havsd.net/dyal@havsd.net

 

No Place for Hate Club

No Place For Hate is a club that provides a safe environment for all members to come and share ideas  related to tolerance and acceptance of all people, regardless of race, religion, sexuality, intelligence, etc. Our club meets weekly and works to bring all students of Haverford together through activities like Open Mic  Night, the exchange of candygrams, and gatherings like potluck dinners to share and explore the diversity present in our school. We welcome all interested students and look forward to more conversations and activities that promote understanding and acceptance of everyone.

Sponsor: Ms. April Forgeng/Ms. Tess Hartman

Email: aforgeng@havsd.net/hartman@havsd.net

 

Orchestra

Perform standard orchestral repertoire.

Sponsor: Mr. Joseph Brennan

Email: brennan@havsd.net

 

Outdoors Club

Learn a variety of outdoor skills: Knot tying, environmental conservation, fly tying, hiking and fishing.

Sponsor: Mr. Matthew Marran

Email: mmarran@havsd.net

 

Paws for a Cause

Raise funds to give animal shelters and provide community service opportunities at local shelters.

Sponsor: Mr. Michael Armine

Email: armine@havsd.net

 

Pen and Ink

Haverford High School's literary magazine. A book that is full of poetry, short stories, artwork, and photography from the student body.  A creative outlet for students to express themselves. The staff meets primarily in the spring to sort through the submissions, design the cover, and work with editing and typing the book. All students from every grade level are welcome to join.

Sponsor: Ms. Suzanne Rudolph

Email: srudolph@havsd.net

 

Philosophy Club

A group that discusses the big questions of life: truth and justice; good and evil in the world; the essence of human nature, faith and society. Students meet once a month to express their opinions in a forum where these opinions and discussions are encouraged. Meetings last for close to an hour. Two leaders are selected within the group, who agree to create the topic of discussions each month.

Sponsor: Ms. Suzanne Rudolph

Email: srudolph@havsd.net

 

Photography Club

Meet to discuss photography, take pictures and evaluate work.

Sponsor: Ms. Sarah Colby

Email: scolby@havsd.net

 

Ping Pong Club and Gaming Club

Open to all students at every level of ping pong ability. You can even join in Magic or Dungeons and Dragons!

Sponsor: Ms. Jessica Margelot

Email: jmargelot@havsd.net

 

Pokemon Club

Play Pokemon and discuss strategy. Hang out with other people who appreciate the game of Pokemon.

Sponsor: Ms. Elyse Barrett

Email: ebarratt@havsd.net

 

Prayer Group

Students meet for student-led prayer for themselves, their friends and the Haverford community

Sponsor: Ms. Rebecca Mortland

Email: mortland@havsd.net

 

Red and Gold

This is a year-long school spirit competition that will conclude in a "field day" type event during the evening.  At this event, teams will face off in battles including an obstacle course, tug-of war, dance competition, glee competition, relay races, and so many more!!!  For more information, see your team general.  

Sponsor: Ms. Jenna Oleykowski/Ms. Laurie Grady

Email: oleykowski@havsd.net/grady@havsd.net

 

Red Cross Club

Red Cross Club has partnered with the American Red Cross to educate Haverford High School about disaster preparedness and help out our community. Club members participate in various fundraising and volunteer efforts alongside their friends and have the opportunity to become CPR certified. We're thrilled with the success of our first year and we look forward to many more years of carrying out the Red Cross Mission.

Sponsor: Mrs. Jenna Oleykowski

Email: oleykowski@havsd.net

 

Robotics

Haverford's robotics team, Team 484 - RoboForce, competes in FIRST Robotics competitions. Students design and build a new robot each year to compete in a new game challenge, using that robot for 5 to 7 competitions. Team members work with adult mentors on programming, fabrication, using sensors, and testing the robot before competition. The competitions are intense, loud, and lots of fun! 

Sponsor: Mr. Benjamin Preddy

Email: benpreddy@comcast.net

 

SAAC(Student-Athlete Advisory Council)

Student-Athlete program. The mission is to educate and prepare students for the future. SAAC promotes camaraderie within teams and athletics and participate in community service events.

Sponsor: Ms. Lauren Pellicane/Ms. Chelsea McDaniel

Email: pellicane@havsd.net/cmcdaniel@havsd.net

 

SADD

Promote positive decision making at Haverford High School. Bring awareness to issues that are imapcting high school students. 

Sponsor: Mr. Keith MacConnell

Email: kmacconnell@havsd.net

 

Science Olympiad

Students work together through their interest in science to problem-solve, build and create as they prepare for competitions.

Sponsor: Ms. Colleen Pompetti/Mr. Nicholas Bilotti

Email: cpompetti@havsd.net/nbilotti@havsd.net

 

Spanish Club

A time for friends with a shared interest in Spanish language and culture.

Sponsor: Ms. Megan MacConnell/Ms. Andrea Warren

Email: MMacconnell@havsd.net/awarren@havsd.net

 

Speech and Debate

Compete against other schools while improving your public speaking skills.

Sponsor: Ms. Elyse Barrett

Email: ebarrett@havsd.net

 

Student Senate

Provide the school with leadership through student run evensts that benefit the Haverford community.

Sponsor: Ms. Amy Alderfer/Ms. Nicole Braun

Email: aalderfer@havsd.net/nbraun@havsd.net

 

Tech Crew

Open to all students who are interested in the technical side of theatre. Work in set design, construction, audio engineering and lighting design. 

Sponsor: Mr. Corsi

Email: dcorsi@havsd.net

 

Ted-Ed

Watch, listen, discuss and even create your own Ted Talk!

Sponsor: Ms. Laurie Grady

Email: lgrady@havsd.net

 

Tri M- Music Honor Society

Membership extended for student who meet the following qualifications:

Sponsor: Ms. Marsha Core

Email: mcore@havsd.net

 

Ultimate Frisbee

HUDA seeks to teach the fundamentals of Ultimate to everyone who has a desire to play, to foster the love the game and build a competitive Ultimate program where our team competes at the highest level of local, state and national competition. All levels of play our welcome!

Sponsor: Dr. Victoria Pollard

Email: vpollard@havsd.net

 

Unless Club

This Club participates in the Philadelphia Zoo Albert M. Greenfield Unless Contest. The contest encourages schools to create a campaign that demonstrates how recycling saves energy and wildlife. Our goal is to raise awareness in the school and community. through art, media, and ourselves. Unless Club members share a passion for the environment, animals, and spreading the message of recycling throughout the community.

Sponsor: Ms. Jenna Oleykowski

EmIL: oleykowski@havsd.net

 

Video Game Design

Work with fellow Haverford students to create and design your own video games. 

Sponsor: Ms. Moore

Email: kmoore@havsd.net

 

WHHS Radio Station

Haverford's student led radio stations. Student directors coordinate and schedule student run programming.

Sponsor: Mr. Michael Armine

Email: armine@havsd.net

 

World Affairs Club

A discussion forum of motivated, energetic students who consider geographic and political issues facing today's world.

Sponsor: Ryan Caviglia

Email: caviglia@havsd.net

 

Zodiac Union

Learn about your Zodiac Sign. Connect it your everyday life. Meet other kids who are interested in the power of the Zodiac!

Sponsor: Ms. Grady

Email: lgrady@havsd.net

Last Modified on March 17, 2017
CLOSE